Minimum Wage: West Virginia
Federal law and guidance on this subject should be reviewed together with this section.
Author: Eric E. Kinder, Spilman Thomas & Battle, PLLC
- Most West Virginia employers must pay nonexempt employees a minimum wage of $8.75 per hour. See Overview.
- Employers may take a credit against their minimum wage obligations for employees' tips and for the cost of lodging and meals. See Credit for Board and Lodging and Credit for Tipped Employees.
- An employer may pay a subminimum training wage for up to 90 days if the employee is under 20 years of age during the 90-day period. See Subminimum Wages.