Other Leaves: Louisiana
Federal law and guidance on this subject should be reviewed together with this section.
Author: Michelle D. Craig
- Louisiana state law provides various leaves in addition to those leaves granted by federal law. See Louisiana - Leaves of Absence.
- Under the Louisiana Pregnancy Disability Leave Act, employers with more than 25 employees must provide six weeks to four months of leave to qualifying employees. See Pregnancy Disability Leave
- Under Louisiana's Military Relief Act, an employer may not terminate, penalize or otherwise discriminate against an employee because the employee is a member of or serves in the armed forces, Louisiana state militia or other military forces. See Military Leave.
- Louisiana employers with 20 or more employees cannot terminate, discipline or threaten to terminate or discipline a honorably discharged veteran for taking time off from work to attend medical visits necessary to receive veterans' benefits. See Veterans - Leave to Attend Medical Appointments.
- Louisiana state law also allows up to 16 hours of unpaid leave for caregivers to attend school-related activities and conferences. See Louisiana School and Day Care Conference and Activities Leave Act.
- Employees are allowed one day of paid leave for jury duty. See Jury Duty Leave.
- Louisiana allows employees 40 hours of leave to donate bone marrow if the employer employs 20 or more employees. See Bone Marrow Donation Leave.
- Currently, Louisiana has no statute that requires private employers to provide voting leave to employees. See Voting Leave.
- Louisiana law generally prohibits municipalities from enacting their own vacation and sick leave laws. See Limitation on Local Leave Laws.