Podcast: What 2018 California Employment Laws Mean For HR
Hosted by: David Weisenfeld
California has long been at or near the front of employment law trends, and that certainly holds true this year. New compliance requirements involving job interviews, the minimum wage and parental leave already have taken effect in the Golden State, and more could be on the way.
This podcast features an in-depth look at all of these new laws affecting the workplace with Littler Mendelson employment attorney Bruce Sarchet, of the firm's Sacramento office. Sarchet is a member of Littler's Workplace Policy Institute, where he focuses on California legislative changes.
What 2018 California Employment Laws Mean For HR
February 2, 2018
Sarchet says California's salary history inquiry ban and its "ban the box" law, both of which took effect January 1, 2018, are the most notable new developments. He points out that employers must now wait to conduct background checks until after extending a conditional job offer. In addition, they must refrain from asking job applicants about their salary history.
Another significant change discussed is California's two-tiered increase to its minimum wage, which Sarchet calls, "a sleeper provision." For instance, employers with 26 or more employees must now pay at least $11.00 per hour while the minimum wage is now $10.50 for employers with 25 or fewer employees. Other employment law changes include:
- California's New Parent Leave Act; and
- Expanded sexual harassment-prevention training for employers with 50 or more employees.
Sarchet also predicts that a statewide predictive scheduling law is likely to be on the legislature's agenda in 2018.