Payment of Wages: Missouri
Federal law and guidance on this subject should be reviewed together with this section.
Authors: Alan L. Rupe and Aaron Sauerwein, Kutak Rock LLP
- Generally, Missouri employers may pay employees' wages in cash, or by check, draft or other voucher. See Wage Payment Methods.
- All corporations doing business in Missouri must pay employees' wages and salaries at least on a semimonthly basis, and no later than 16 days after the close of each payroll period. Certain types of employees may be paid monthly. Pay statements must be provided to employees at least monthly. Penalties are imposed for noncompliance. See Pay Frequency.
- Pay statements must be provided to employees at least monthly. Penalties are imposed for noncompliance. See Pay Statement Requirements.
- Employers doing business in Missouri must give employees who will be affected by a wage reduction at least 30 days' advance notice. See Notification Requirements.
- Missouri law specifies the types of pay deductions that are permitted and the types that are prohibited. See Permitted and Prohibited Wage Deductions.
- The Missouri earned wages access (EWA) law regulates EWA providers and EWA user's rights. Employers that want to offer EWA to their employees as a benefit may find it helpful to familiarize themselves with the law's provisions and the rights of EWA users before entering into an agreement with an EWA provider. See Earned Wage Access Law.
- When an employer terminates an employee's employment, with or without cause, the employee must be paid all wages due on the day of termination. Certain types of employees are exempt from this requirement. When an employee quits, the employer should pay final wages by the next regular payday. Penalties are imposed for violations of the law. See Final Pay.
- Missouri's general estates law may apply to an employer who owes wages or other property to a deceased employee. See Deceased Employee Wages.
- Wages that remain unclaimed by an employee for a period of years specified by state law are considered abandoned property. Employers are required to report and remit abandoned wages to the state and to notify affected employees. See Unclaimed Wages.