Want to Read More? To continue reading this article, please Log in or Register Now

FMLA: Maine

FMLA requirements for other states

Federal law and guidance on this subject should be reviewed together with this section.

Author: Roberta L. Ruiz, Littler


  • In addition to the federal laws, Maine employers may also be subject to Maine's Family and Medical Leave Act and Family Military Leave law. See Family and Medical Leave, Generally.
  • Employers in Maine with 15 or more employees at one location in the state must provide up to 10 weeks of family and medical leave in any two years. See Maine's Family and Medical Leave Act.
  • Employers in Maine with 15 or more employees must provide up to 15 days per year of leave to the spouse (including a same-sex spouse), domestic partner or parent of a member of the military called to active duty lasting more than 180 days with the state or US, under orders of the Governor or US President. See Maine - Family Military Leave.
  • Maine's family sick leave law applies to public and private employers with 25 or more employees. Under this law, if the employer's policy or collective bargaining agreement provides for paid leave, employees must be allowed to use up to 40 hours in a 12-month period to care for an immediate family member (i.e., child, spouse or parent) who is ill. See Maine - Family Sick Leave.