Federal law and guidance on this subject should be reviewed together with this section.
Author: Patrick M. Madden, K&L Gates LLP
- Washington state employers must generally pay nonexempt employees at least one and one half times their regular rate of pay for all hours worked in excess of 40 hours in a workweek. See Overview.
- State law on compensation that must be included in the regular rate and the regular rate calculations generally parallels federal requirements. See The Regular Rate.
- Washington state allows employees to request compensatory time off instead of overtime pay. However, such arrangements are not valid for private-sector employers under federal law. See Compensatory Time Off.
- Washington's overtime requirements do not apply to any industry in which federal law provides for an overtime payment based on a workweek other than 40 hours. See Alternative Work Periods.
- Seattle has requirements pertaining to overtime. See Local Requirements.