Minimum Salary Levels for Executive, Administrative and Professional Employees by State

Author: Susie Wine, Littler

The federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and certain state laws set minimum salary levels for overtime-exempt executive, administrative and professional employees. Employers covered by the FLSA must pay whichever salary level - whether federal or that of the state in which their employees are working - is higher to remain eligible for an exemption.

The following information is summarized on this chart:

  • Covered Employers: In many states, the minimum salary levels apply to all employers. In others, coverage is limited or the minimum salary levels vary depending on certain factors. The chart links to the Employment Law Manual for further details.
  • Minimum Weekly Salary: Because the FLSA and many state laws use the workweek as the standard for determining whether an employee is entitled to overtime, the minimum salary level for overtime-exempt employees is listed as a dollar amount that must be paid each week. In states where the minimum salary level is based on some other unit of time (e.g., per hour, per month, per year), the minimum salary level has been converted to a weekly amount.
  • Upcoming Changes: Future minimum salary levels, and the dates on which they take effect, are also listed.

States whose laws are silent or that have no minimum salary level are marked N/A. In these states, employers covered by the FLSA should follow federal law.


Jurisdiction Covered Employers Minimum Weekly Salary Upcoming Changes
Federal All $455.00
  • $684.00 - January 1, 2020
Alabama N/A N/A
  • N/A
Alaska1 All $791.20
  • $815.20 - January 1, 2020
  • Adjusted for inflation - January 1, 2021, and every January 1 thereafter
Arizona N/A N/A
  • N/A
Arkansas2 Most employers $455.00
  • N/A
Charitable and religious organizations, and employers that have gross annual sales of less than $500,000 per year $360.00
  • N/A
California Employers with 25 or fewer employees $880.00
  • $960.00 - January 1, 2020
  • $1,040.00 - January 1, 2021
  • $1,120.00 - January 1, 2022
  • $1,200.00 - January 1, 2023
  • Adjusted for inflation - January 1, 2024, and every January 1 thereafter
Employers with 26 or more employees $960.00
  • $1,040.00 - January 1, 2020
  • $1,120.00 - January 1, 2021
  • $1,200.00 - January 1, 2022
  • Adjusted for inflation - January 1, 2024, and every January 1 thereafter
Colorado3 All $444.00
  • $480.00 - January 1, 2020
  • Adjusted for inflation - January 1, 2021, and every January 1 thereafter
Connecticut4 All $400.00 (long test) or $475.00 (short test)
  • N/A
Delaware N/A N/A
  • N/A
District of Columbia* All $455.00
  • $684.00 - January 1, 2020
Florida* All $455.00
  • $684.00 - January 1, 2020
Georgia N/A N/A
  • N/A
Hawaii All $210.00
  • N/A
Idaho N/A N/A
  • N/A
Illinois* All $455.00
  • $684.00 - January 1, 2020
Indiana Employers not subject to the FLSA's minimum wage requirements $150.00
  • N/A
Iowa4 All $310.00 (long test, executive or administrative); $340.00 (long test, professional); or $500.00 (short test)
  • N/A
Kansas Employers not subject to the FLSA $155.00 (executive); $170.00 (professional)
  • N/A
Kentucky All $455.00
  • N/A
Louisiana N/A N/A
  • N/A
Maine5 All $634.61
  • $692.31 - January 1, 2020
  • Adjusted for inflation - January 1, 2021, and every January 1 thereafter
Maryland* All $455.00
  • $684.00 - January 1, 2020
Massachusetts* All $455.00
  • $684.00 - January 1, 2020
Michigan Almost all employers6 $455.00
  • $684.00 - January 1, 2020
Minnesota4 All $155.00 (long test, executive or administrative); $170.00 (long test, professional); or $250.00 (short test)
  • N/A
Mississippi N/A N/A
  • N/A
Missouri7 All $455.00
  • N/A
Montana8 All $455.00
  • N/A
Nebraska N/A N/A
  • N/A
Nevada* All $455.00
  • $684.00 - January 1, 2020
New Hampshire N/A N/A
  • N/A
New Jersey* All $455.00
  • $684.00 - January 1, 2020
New Mexico N/A N/A
  • N/A
New York9 New York City (11 or more employees) $1,125.00
  • N/A
New York City (10 or fewer employees) $1,012.50
  • $1,125.00 - December 31, 2019
Nassau, Suffolk, and Westchester counties $900.00
  • $975.00 - December 31, 2019
  • $1,050.00 - December 31, 2020
  • $1,125.00 - December 31, 2021
Remainder of State $832.00
  • $885.00 - December 31, 2019
  • $937.50 -December 31, 2020
  • TBD - December 31, 2021
North Carolina* All $455.00
  • $684.00 - January 1, 2020
North Dakota N/A N/A
  • N/A
Ohio* All $455.00
  • $684.00 - January 1, 2020
Oklahoma N/A N/A
  • N/A
Oregon Portland Area $500.00
  • $530.00 - July 1, 2020
  • $560.00 - July 1, 2021
  • $590.00 - July 1, 2022
  • Adjusted for inflation - July 1, 2023, and every July 1 thereafter
Nonrural Counties $450.00
  • $480.00 - July 1, 2020
  • $510.00 - July 1, 2021
  • $540.00 - July 1, 2022
  • Adjusted for inflation - January 1, 2021, and every January 1 thereafter
Rural Counties $440.00
  • $460.00 - July 1, 2020
  • $480.00 - July 1, 2021
  • $500.00 - July 1, 2022
  • Adjusted for inflation - July 1, 2023, and every July 1 thereafter
Pennsylvania4 All $155.00 (long test, executive or administrative); $170.00 (long test, professional); or $250.00 (short test)
  • N/A
Rhode Island All $200.00
  • N/A
South Carolina N/A N/A
  • N/A
South Dakota N/A N/A
  • N/A
Tennessee N/A N/A
  • N/A
Texas N/A N/A
  • N/A
Utah N/A N/A
  • N/A
Vermont N/A N/A
  • N/A
Virginia N/A N/A
  • N/A
Washington All $155.00 (long test, executive or administrative); $170.00 (long test, professional); or $250.00 (short test)
  • N/A
West Virginia All $455.00
  • N/A
Wisconsin10 $161.54 (executive or administrative); $173.08 (professional)
  • N/A
Wyoming N/A N/A
  • N/A
* States marked with an asterisk have adopted the federal standards by reference.
1 The minimum salary must be at least two times the state minimum wage.
2 Arkansas has adopted the federal standards in place on July 1, 2005.
3 Colorado's minimum salary applies only to executive/supervisory employees; administrative and professional employees need only "be salaried." Executive/supervisory employees must earn a salary in excess of the equivalent of the Colorado minimum wage (currently $11.10 per hour) for all hours worked in a workweek. The minimum weekly salary figure is based on a 40-hour workweek.
4 The long test extensively considers an employee's duties, including time spent on nonexempt duties. The short test considers an employee's primary duties.
5 The minimum annual salary is 3,000 times the state minimum hourly wage (currently $33,000.00) or the minimum salary required by the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (currently $23,660.00), whichever is higher.
6 In general, Michigan's minimum wage and overtime laws apply to employers with two or more employees at any time within a calendar year. An employer is subject to the minimum wage and overtime laws during the remainder of that calendar year. Michigan's minimum wage and overtime laws do not apply to an employer that is subject to the minimum wage provisions of the federal Fair Labor Standards Act, unless those federal minimum wage provisions would result in a lower minimum hourly wage. Currently, the federal minimum wage is lower than the Michigan minimum wage, so this exemption does not apply.
7 Missouri has adopted the federal standards in place on December 16, 2004.
8 Montana has adopted the federal standards in place on July 1, 2009.
9 These figures apply only to executive and administrative employees.
10 Actual requirements are $700.00 per month for executive or administrative exemptions, $750.00 per month for professional exemption.