Michigan Minimum Wage Increases to $9.45
Implementation Date: March 29, 2019
Note: Although the Improved Workforce Opportunity Wage Act (IWOWA) provides that Michigan's minimum wage is $9.45 beginning January 1, 2019, the Constitution of the State of Michigan provides that an Act does not take effect until 90 days from the end of the session in which it was passed unless two-thirds of the legislators in each chamber vote to give it immediate effect. +MCLS Const. Art. IV, § 27. The legislature adjourned sine die at noon of December 28, 2018. The Michigan Wage and Hour Division website states the effective date for the $9.45 minimum wage rate is March 29, 2019.
Effective March 29, 2019, the minimum wage in Michigan increases to $9.45 per hour under the Improved Workforce Opportunity Wage Act.
The minimum direct cash wage for tipped employees increases to $3.59, meaning the maximum tip credit an employer may claim is $5.86.