Connecticut Significantly Expands Anti-Sexual Harassment Training Law
Author: David B. Weisenfeld, XpertHR Legal Editor
June 24, 2019
Almost all Connecticut employers will soon face anti-sexual harassment training requirements under an amendment Gov. Ned Lamont signed that significantly expands state law.
Effective October 1, 2019, any employer with three or more employees must provide at least two hours of anti-sexual harassment training for all employees, not just supervisors. Currently, Connecticut requires supervisor training only for employers with 50 or more employees.
Even employers with fewer than three employees are not off the hook, as they will be subject to a supervisor training requirement under what has become known as the "Time's Up" law. All Connecticut employers must provide this training by October 1, 2020, or within six months of an employee assuming a supervisory position.
The Connecticut law classifies the failure to provide training as a "discriminatory practice" and states that fines will be imposed on noncompliant employers. Some other key requirements under the amended law include:
- Providing training for all covered employees hired on or after October 1, 2019, within six months of hire;
- Providing employees, within three months of starting work, the link to the CHRO's website stating the illegality of sexual harassment along with the available remedies;
- Expanding the limitations period for filing a discrimination practice or sexual harassment claim with the CHRO from 180 days to 300 days; and
- Making punitive damages for prevailing employees available when a sexual harassment complaint is filed in court.
This marks the latest in a series of sexual harassment prevention laws that have sprouted up across the US in response to the #MeToo movement.