News

Minimum Wage Categories

All Items: Minimum Wage

  • DOL's "Vertical" Joint Employment Rule Struck Down

    Date:
    September 9, 2020

    A federal district court has vacated the US Department of Labor's so-called vertical joint employment rule, which had made it easier for businesses to avoid liability for Fair Labor Standards Act violations made by staffing agencies, subcontractors and others.

  • Tip Credit Changes May Jar Employers

    Date:
    January 27, 2020

    New legislation, proposed regulations and other directives regarding the minimum wage tip credit could necessitate changes in policies and practices for employers of tipped employees in Connecticut, Maryland, New Jersey and New York.

  • DOL Finalizes FLSA Joint Employment Rule

    Date:
    January 13, 2020

    Welcomed by franchisors and others in the business community, the new Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) joint employment rule takes effect March 16.

  • New Year, New Minimum Wage Rates in 21 States and Many Localities

    Date:
    January 6, 2020

    With the federal minimum wage remaining unchanged for more than 10 years now, states and localities are filling in the gap with new minimum wage laws or increases to existing minimum wages.

  • Denver Setting a Mile-High Minimum Wage

    Date:
    December 2, 2019

    Denver's minimum wage will be $12.85 per hour, effective January 1, 2020, and then increase to $15.87 per hour by 2022.

  • DOL to Propose Tip Credit Regulations

    Date:
    October 7, 2019

    If finalized, proposed regulations could help bolster two key US Department of Labor interpretations of the FLSA.

  • Maine Significantly Expands Employment Laws

    Date:
    September 23, 2019

    Many notable employment law developments recently took effect in Maine, including new wage theft and noncompete agreement laws, new pregnancy accommodation requirements and more.

  • Arizona Employers Can Face Requirements Going Beyond State Law

    Date:
    September 5, 2019

    The Arizona Supreme Court has let stand a ruling that permits local governments to regulate wages and benefits beyond what state law requires of private employers.

  • Nevada Enacts Paid Leave, Minimum Wage Increases and More

    Date:
    June 13, 2019

    Starting in 2020, employers with 50 or more employees in Nevada will be required to provide employees up to 40 hours hours of paid leave per benefit year. In addition, Nevada's minimum wage will increase by 75 cents per year, until it reaches $12 per hour in 2020.

  • Nevada Sets Bar for Health Benefits Needed for Lower Minimum Wage

    Date:
    May 31, 2019

    Effective January 1, 2020, Nevada's minimum wage law will be amended to specify exactly which benefits an employer must offer in order to pay a lower minimum wage.

About This Category

News: HR guidance on complying with federal, state and municipal minimum wage laws.