New legislation, proposed regulations and other directives regarding the minimum wage tip credit could necessitate changes in policies and practices for employers of tipped employees in Connecticut, Maryland, New Jersey and New York.
Denver's minimum wage will be $12.85 per hour, effective January 1, 2020, and then increase to $15.87 per hour by 2022.
If finalized, proposed regulations could help bolster two key US Department of Labor interpretations of the FLSA.
Connecticut joins California, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York and about three dozen cities, towns and counties that have, or will eventually have, a $15 minimum wage.
Unlike many states, New Mexico will not adjust its minimum wage for inflation every year after the $12 minimum wage kicks in.
Michigan's governor signed amendments to the state's minimum wage and paid sick leave laws. The laws were passed in September to preempt November ballot initiatives to raise the minimum wage and require employers to offer paid sick leave.
News: HR guidance on complying with the federal and state requirements for the minimum wage tip credit.
XpertHR is part of the LexisNexis® Risk Solutions Group portfolio of brands.
The materials and information included in the XpertHR service are provided for reference purposes only. They are not intended either as a substitute for professional advice or judgment or to provide legal or other advice with respect to particular circumstances. Use of the service is subject to our terms and conditions.
Copyright © 2020 LexisNexis Risk Solutions Group
© 2020 LexisNexis Risk Solutions Group.