Maine is considered to be an employee-friendly state. Examples of this are that an applicant or employee may not be charged for employment-related examinations, and the state has established certain protected classes outside of the ones protected by federal law.
This page is a round-up of the state and municipal laws in Maine.
Updated to reflect an increase in the state minimum wage, effective January 1, 2017.
Revised policy to refine provisions that, though compliant with state law, may conflict with National Labor Relations Act employee protections for employee discussion and disclosure related to the terms and conditions of employment.
On Election Day, states went high: voters in California, Massachusetts and Nevada voted to legalize recreational marijuana. Maine's results are still listed as "too close to call," but those voting "yes" are in the lead.
Minimum wage rates will gradually increase over the next four years, eventually reaching $12.00 in Arizona, Colorado and Maine, and $13.50 in Washington. Starting in 2021, the minimum wage rates will be adjusted for inflation once a year.
A roundup of the comprehensive state coverage XpertHR offers to help Maine employers ensure they are compliant with state employment laws.