South Dakota is an employer-friendly state. For example, South Dakota protects an employer who gives a good faith reference. South Dakota also has laws that benefit employees, such as the state’s mini-COBRA law.
This page is a round-up of the state and municipal laws in South Dakota.
Updated to reflect the defeat of a ballot initiative that would have established a youth minimum wage of $7.50 per hour for non-tipped employees under the age of 18.
Minimum wage rates will gradually increase over the next four years, eventually reaching $12.00 in Arizona, Colorado and Maine, and $13.50 in Washington. Starting in 2021, the minimum wage rates will be adjusted for inflation once a year.
Enhanced to link users to the most comprehensive coverage of each law and to improve the organization and scope.
Enhanced to improve the comprehensiveness, organization and topics covered of state employment laws.
Updated to include information on amended creditor garnishment withholding limits, effective July 1, 2016.
HR departments should get ready now to comply with a wide variety of employment law requirements that are changing on July 1. Depending on the employer's presence in various jurisdictions, a number of workplace practices may be affected by legislative changes, ranging from employment contracts to payroll.
In-depth review of the spectrum of South Dakota employment law requirements HR must follow with respect to unemployment insurance tax (FUTA/SUTA).
A roundup of the comprehensive state coverage XpertHR offers to help South Dakota employers ensure they are compliant with state employment laws.