This is a preview. To continue reading, register for free access now. Register Now or Log in

Child Labor: Missouri

Child Labor requirements for other states

Federal law and guidance on this subject should be reviewed together with this section.

Authors: Alan L. Rupe and Daniel Press, Kutak Rock LLP


  • Missouri's child labor law regulates the employment of minors under 16 years of age.
  • Missouri limits the types of jobs minors may work. See Prohibited Occupations.
  • Minors are restricted from working more than a certain number of hours per day, depending on whether or not it is a school day. See Hours of Work.
  • Work certificates are required for 14- and 15-year-olds, while work permits are required for all minors in the entertainment industry. See Employment Certificates.