Want to Read More? To continue reading this article, please Log in or Register Now

Minimum Wage: Maryland

Minimum Wage requirements for other states

Federal law and guidance on this subject should be reviewed together with this section.

Authors: Meredith S. Campbell and Fred S. Sommer, Shulman, Rogers, Gandal, Pordy & Ecker, PA

Updating Author: Michael Cardman, XpertHR Legal Editor


  • Maryland's minimum wage is $10.10 per hour. See Minimum Wage.
  • Employers may claim employees' tips and/or board and lodging they provide as a credit against the minimum wage. See Credit for Tipped Employees and Credit for Board and Lodging.
  • An employer may pay 85 percent of the minimum wage to employees under the age of 20 during the first six months of their employment. See Subminimum Wages.
  • Montgomery County and Prince George's County have their own minimum wage rates for employers operating within city limits. See Local Minimum Wages.