This is a preview. To continue reading, register for free access now. Register Now or Log in

FMLA: Vermont

FMLA requirements for other states

Federal law and guidance on this subject should be reviewed together with this section.

Authors: Jean L. Schmidt and Susan A.P. Woodhouse, Littler


  • Vermont requires parental leave for employers with 10 or more employees and family leave for employers with 15 or more employees within the state. See Parental and Family Leave.
  • In addition to long-term family leave, an employee is permitted to take an unpaid leave not to exceed four hours in any 30-day period (not to exceed 24 hours in a 12-month period) for certain qualifying reasons. See Short-Term Family Leave.
  • Other types of leave may be available to Vermont employees - some required by federal, state or local law, and some provided by company policy, as well as several sources of income replacement. See Interaction of Leave Laws.