Delaware Ready to Join $15.00 Minimum Wage Club
Author: Michael Cardman, XpertHR Legal Editor
UPDATE: Gov. John Carney signed SB 15 into law on July 19, 2021.
June 21, 2021
Delaware's minimum wage would increase from $9.25 to $15.00 over the next four years under a bill passed by the state legislature last week.
Gov. John Carney plans to sign the bill into law, but a date has not yet been set, according to a spokesperson.
Once the bill is signed, Delaware will join California, Connecticut, the District of Columbia, Florida, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island, Virginia and dozens of localities across the country that either have, or are on a path to have, a $15.00 minimum wage.
Under the bill, the minimum wage would increase to:
- $10.50 per hour, effective January 1, 2022;
- $11.75 per hour, effective January 1, 2023;
- $13.25 per hour, effective January 1, 2024; and
- $15.00 per hour, effective January 1, 2025.
In other minimum wage news, several states and localities have minimum wage increases that take effect July 1, including Nevada; Oregon; Washington, DC; and Chicago, Illinois.